Thursday, March 26, 2026

Very Sad Day

We had horrible news yesterday. 
A good friend died suddenly. 

This was the husband of my friend who came over to paint rocks. We were suppose to go on a hike Monday. She invited me to the Botanical Gardens yesterday, but I couldn't go. 

The friend who joined for all of this too called me. They were at the gardens when the call came (her daughter found him). Hour of traffic to get home. They had to wait outside for the entire afternoon while the authorities did an investigation. 

My husband considers him a close friend. They get together almost every week. We've traveled with them and had plans to do more.

He was one of the good guys. He was the only husband of a friend who I considered an actual friend too. We have a strong connection to another friend who we knew at different times -- absolutely crazy.
Funny, kind, great conversationalist, upbeat -- everyone loved him. No exaggeration. 

When they say only the good die young -- this is that. 

He will be so missed and we are heartbroken for my friend and her daughters. 

I'll leave it at that today. 
Godspeed, my friend. 

Wednesday, March 25, 2026

Hang On, Little Ones

And then there was one ...

I trough planted 3 tomato plants, but only one survived the night.
Two were flopped over and wilted when I took the cover off.
Most of potted ones seem okay so far -- a few are pretty sad looking though.
Geez.


Duke and I went for a walk yesterday and saw this flowering tree. The micro branches on the trunk have bloomed too. Little pops of color.






Volunteering was great. This community and the school are full of amazing people. If the a*#holes who hate "others" would just SEE people ... I really hate the extremist Christians. Not MY God. Not my Christianity. Not Jesus' either.


Today begins the more chill part of the week. Still things to do, still a schedule, but SPACE. Not a lot, but enough. 

As always, a reminder to use the time for GOOD (not sofa slugging with a bowl of junk food -- which happens way too often). I'm still practicing on how to relax in better ways. 


Short and sweet this morning ... except for my little hate on the haters. 
Have a good day.
Later gators.

Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Leggy -- What to do??

I may have screwed up the grow room -- probably, actually. Eeeek.

I planted too early and the tomatoes grew too fast -- they're leggy and weak. In order to accommodate their big growth, I had to raise the light which, in turn, has made some other plants reach up and get leggy. I didn't realize how bad it was because they were supporting each other and they looked full. I took a pot out to assess the roots and the tomato flopped over at the soil level immediately. Ouch.

The first year I seeded, I traveled for a couple of weeks so I delayed the recommended seeding time by a about a month. This year I didn't, seeded when I "should," and now I'm a few weeks from outdoor planting and in a pickle. 

In researching, I also learned I should've slowed down the growth of the tomatoes by lowering the temperature of the heating pad once they germinated. Now I know. Oh -- and cherry tomato plants are extra fast growers.

Geez.

What to do?? Lordy, I hope Mother Nature is forgiving and the plants can adapt. 

I repotted some of the tomatoes in deeper pots (tossed a few that were very weak), and trenched planted a few outside (covering at night) to see if they'll take. I'm hardening the tomatoes this week. Once I can get them in the ground, I can plant deeper and solve the issue. The problem is I'm technically 3 weeks out and I don't have pots deep enough. I might be able to move the outdoor planting up a week or so. 


Staked and waiting to go back
outside in a few hours.


They're getting a few hours outside when temps are over 55 and I have 2 new lights for inside dedicated to just the tomatoes.

I also added a fan to the grow room to help the other plants get sturdier. Come on little peppers. 

Live and ALWAYS continue to learn -- extra true for gardeners. It's so easy to make a mistake. I don't have a natural green thumb. It's trial and TONS of error for me and my little garden.



Anyway ... that was most of yesterday. Potting, fixing, hoping. I was tired and dirty by the evening so I watched the City Council meeting remotely instead of going. So glad I did -- I sagged out after 90 minutes when it was only agenda item 3 of 9. I wonder if they tabled some of the items due to time. 


I'm volunteering all day today and have a virtual meeting at 7:30 tonight. I'm pleased being in groups with age diversity, but that means people work, have young kids, and their availability is later ... after dinner, homework, sports, etc. Dang. Another flanked day -- early and late. 

The good news is this is the last of the evening stuff this week. I'm invited to a sign making party on Thursday, but it's at 7 o'clock and it's a nope for me. I have 3 signs, making a couple more at home, AND won't be carrying any of them to this protest since I'm marshaling (hence the meeting tonight). Many reasons to not go, but I love being invited. If this were earlier, I would've gone (even 5 o'clock would be okay) to enjoy being in community with friends, but the host is a night owl and it's too late for me hah!


Have a good day. I need to remind myself today is Tuesday. It feels like a Monday for sure. Later gators.

Monday, March 23, 2026

Love Signs in Asheville

Asheville signs on our walk yesterday. Not ONE hate sign. 



I love that they kept this up!

Respecting all creatures



My favorite.




I had a really good day with family. I'm glad I made the time. 
I'm also glad I did it a bit on my own terms. 


Heading home this morning. 

It's Monday and time to plan this week ahead. I have a few spaces in the week and I'm keeping them free to do something unscheduled and for myself. Remembering is half my battle lol.

Today and tomorrow are the fullest days, but then the week opens up.

Have a good start to the week too. Later gators.

Sunday, March 22, 2026

We Made It

The drive to Asheville was uneventful. Duke and I stopped for a little doggie break and a car picnic (hiking sammie), and made it here in good time. Why the worry?? I still think it's hormones. 

It was a good choice to stay back last night. My sister called at 8:30 -- they'd just finished up dinner. Duke would've been upset being here alone and I was already tucked in bed when she called. 


This isn't a usual trip to Asheville -- I might not get even ONE stop at the teahouse {*clutches pearls*}. A first in FIVE YEARS (!!)  This is a visit with my aunt and uncle that happens to be in Asheville. My uncle is recovering from 2 strokes and he doesn't have stamina to walk or do much without a rest. Add my dog home alone to the mix, and that gobbles up a lot of time.

I'm very lucky to have my aunts and uncles -- I'm close to all of them. More than half are in their 80s now and I know we have limited time to be together. As much as this weekend's timing wasn't good, I'm glad I came. These memories are important. And they're an inspiration on how to age and how to hold a close family.


Duke and I will walk this morning in the north Asheville neighborhoods. I won't go up the mountain with him and bears. I'll see what little bits of MY fun I can squeeze in today. We'll head out late morning tomorrow. 

A little Asheville delight is I have the windows open and the first birds of the day have started singing. It's loud (robins, I think) and happy -- smells like fresh rain too. Storms overnight with wind through the windows -- it was such a flashback to childhood. We never ran the AC, always window open and I loved the breeze and rain smell at night. 


Hope you have a good day. Later gators.

Saturday, March 21, 2026

Duke and Me and Asheville

Asheville or bust today.

I'm a little bit nervous. Strange for me and Asheville. Taking this trip with Duke, sans hubby, has me feeling out of sorts about it. Worried about things that don't worry me.

Sneaky feeling this is hormones -- suddenly nothing is stable. It might be a last push from my body before full menopause. 


Yesterday was better than expected. 

I ran outside at first light which is always pretty -- something about the sky and sun that early feels peaceful. Once I got moving, the run felt okay. I need to run at least once a week to not get crazy sore for a couple of days after.

Standing Friday meeting was a good one. Interesting conversation about our town, politics, etc. 

Lunch with my HS friend was also a nice conversation and the restaurant was a surprise hit. Got enough for dinner last night and lunch on the road today.


Hooked up my today's self by getting gas (had to drive for a bit to find gas under $5/gallon). Trying to make good time on the trip because stopping for a bathroom with my dog is an issue. I made it without stopping during the pandemic, but it's not easy -- my bladder is FULL.


But then yesterday's self did the minimum. Dang. I got a few things ready (laundry, trash, prepped food, etc), then sagged out. Double dang. 

I wanted an evening of nothing. I did get to bed early and got a good night's sleep, but I wish I'd done a little more because, once again, the morning feels like a push.

I AM hooking tomorrow's self up with a workout today so I can do the minimum morning activity tomorrow (long walk with Duke, but no workout). 


I think I'm going to skip tonight's family dinner. My aunt and uncle won't get in until 4:30 -- they'll need to get settled, house tour, greet everyone, etc. That means dinner after 6 o'clock and I have to leave Duke at the house. He's going to be a wreck being alone without Monti, especially the first day. He's also been throwing up (ate something -- his breath smells like death). As I said, I've seen my aunt and uncle twice recently and my sister hasn't. This'll give them time to catch up. 
UPDATE: I've actually seen them 3 times -- not going tonight.

Of course, if Duke is doing well and I feel energized, maybe I'll go. Playing it by ear. It's just going to be a later night and this pattern is tough for me right now. Leaning heavily toward not going.

Sometime I forget I can operate in the middle space. It's not a choice of all or nothing. I can go and do SOME of the things. My aunt and uncle are in to visit my sister and her family -- I'm not the main act. I can be a supporting character this weekend. Let someone else share the driving, so to speak. I'm doing more for Sunday -- taking today off is okay.


On that note, time to get moving. Have a good day. Later gators.

Friday, March 20, 2026

Overwhelmed, Dang

Good morning.

I hate to even go here, but it's what's on my mind this morning. 
This will be a surprise to no one.
You can say -- told you so or something stronger.


I'M SO OVERWHELMED (!!)
And it's totally, completely, 100% my fault. 

You all need to remind me, stop me, yell from the rafters ... a SPACE on the calendar isn't always a SPACE that needs to be filled. Voids are good. Free time is a must. Teeter with a moment of boredom.


Okay, if truth be told, the biggest issue is my mornings are rushed until god knows when -- as far as the eye can see (on the March calendar page, at least). I can manage the days once I get through the morning.

This means getting up early is a MUST and, you know it, I'm BARELY time adjusted. Still going to bed later than I should and morning wake ups are a rude awakening (literally). 

It's the push to get a workout in and a workout is massively important to how I feel, the hormone regulation, etc. With this lower energy, it so dang hard to workout extra early.


Where are my cancel days when I need them? I got one this week, but apparently it's not enough. 

What I want to be canceled is this weekend in Asheville. It's all work. Company, cleaning, dog with me, hosting, organizing. Shared with my sister, but still a whirlwind of work over three days. 

3 rushed days because I need to get home to volunteer and obligations ALL WEEK. 

I'm excited to see my family and my aunt and uncle, but I just saw them twice recently so it kind of, sort of, doesn't feel worth the effort. Horrible to say. Another weekend would've been fabulous. This timing is tough.

I pushed the trip to tomorrow (because of the grow room and the dog) so what did I do?!?
FILLED TODAY to the brim. 
Good lord. 

Taking my HS friend to lunch for her birthday. I AM happy we fit it in because I hate to not show birthday love to a friend in her actual birthday month, but what was I thinking?!? I don't have the energy for this today. Rush, rush, rush. Then I need to get ready for the trip tomorrow morning and more rush, rush, rush. 


I vow here, right now to stop filling my days so much. 
I need to remember this. 
Will I? Won't I? 


I've been scheduling appointments in the morning so I have my afternoons free for all-the-things. Nope. Doesn't work right now. I'm too tired in the mornings. I need to have that little bit extra sleep and that little bit extra time to be ready to workout. 

I've also been obligated to meetings and such in the evenings. Start the day too early, end the day too late with obligations and that makes days feel so much MORE. Time shift some of this stuff and all would be well.


Okay, I deciphered a few of the issues. Thanks for lending an ear. 

P.S. Yesterday was great. Lunch, garden tour, etc. Book fair setup went well. Back to volunteer with the kids on Tuesday. 

Hope you have a good day. Sorry for another rant. I need my hormones to get with the program -- mood, energy, etc. Later gators.

P.P.S. An email just popped up on the screen from my coaching program ... it's starts, "remember to leave clean space on your calendar." Well, that's some validation. Off to read the email.