Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Leggy -- What to do??

I may have screwed up the grow room -- probably, actually. Eeeek.

I planted too early and the tomatoes grew too fast -- they're leggy and weak. In order to accommodate their big growth, I had to raise the light which, in turn, has made some other plants reach up and get leggy. I didn't realize how bad it was because they were supporting each other and they looked full. I took a pot out to assess the roots and the tomato flopped over at the soil level immediately. Ouch.

The first year I seeded, I traveled for a couple of weeks so I delayed the recommended seeding time by a about a month. This year I didn't, seeded when I "should," and now I'm a few weeks from outdoor planting and in a pickle. 

In researching, I also learned I should've slowed down the growth of the tomatoes by lowering the temperature of the heating pad once they germinated. Now I know. Oh -- and cherry tomato plants are extra fast growers.

Geez.

What to do?? Lordy, I hope Mother Nature is forgiving and the plants can adapt. 

I repotted some of the tomatoes in deeper pots (tossed a few that were very weak), and trenched planted a few outside (covering at night) to see if they'll take. I'm hardening the tomatoes this week. Once I can get them in the ground, I can plant deeper and solve the issue. The problem is I'm technically 3 weeks out and I don't have pots deep enough. I might be able to move the outdoor planting up a week or so. 


Staked and waiting to go back
outside in a few hours.


They're getting a few hours outside when temps are over 55 and I have 2 new lights for inside dedicated to just the tomatoes.

I also added a fan to the grow room to help the other plants get sturdier. Come on little peppers. 

Live and ALWAYS continue to learn -- extra true for gardeners. It's so easy to make a mistake. I don't have a natural green thumb. It's trial and TONS of error for me and my little garden.



Anyway ... that was most of yesterday. Potting, fixing, hoping. I was tired and dirty by the evening so I watched the City Council meeting remotely instead of going. So glad I did -- I sagged out after 90 minutes when it was only agenda item 3 of 9. I wonder if they tabled some of the items due to time. 


I'm volunteering all day today and have a virtual meeting at 7:30 tonight. I'm pleased being in groups with age diversity, but that means people work, have young kids, and their availability is later ... after dinner, homework, sports, etc. Dang. Another flanked day -- early and late. 

The good news is this is the last of the evening stuff this week. I'm invited to a sign making party on Thursday, but it's at 7 o'clock and it's a nope for me. I have 3 signs, making a couple more at home, AND won't be carrying any of them to this protest since I'm marshaling (hence the meeting tonight). Many reasons to not go, but I love being invited. If this were earlier, I would've gone (even 5 o'clock would be okay) to enjoy being in community with friends, but the host is a night owl and it's too late for me hah!


Have a good day. I need to remind myself today is Tuesday. It feels like a Monday for sure. Later gators.

No comments:

Post a Comment